TCA (my initials)

August 16, 2008

detach

Filed under: IF — TCA @ 8:30 pm

This week’s theme at Illustration Friday is “detach.” I’m having a lot of fun with this word. Googling it was inevitable.

The “Solutions for Animal Care Automation” website at Detach.com is vaguely troubling. Phrases like “bedding system” make me wonder if “robot handling” will someday be used to care for humans. In nursing homes? Prisons?

On a cheerier note, Detach Records is based in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Similarly, there’s a “powernoise industrial” band called Pneumatic Detach.

Coping.org asks an intriguing question. “What irrational thinking leads to an inability to detach?”

Moving from psychological jargon to warfare… There’s much info on the web about Col. George Armstrong Custer’s 7th Cavalry detachment at the Battle of Little Big Horn. Also known as Custer’s Last Stand.

Fast forward from 1876 to the Iraq War… Rumsfeld’s phrase “message force multipliers” has been on my mind lately. I’ll work this phrase into my IF entry somehow. I’m working on it now.

Blog at WordPress.com.

