TCA (my initials)

July 28, 2008

wasting time on usenet

Filed under: Links — TCA @ 5:04 pm

The following is a grab bag of stuff posted by me to usenet in the doggie days of summer.

WHAT ABOUT “BOB?”
Posted to alt.slack

100% of the content in this image file has been used without permission.

Truth be told, the EFF says that you don’t have to ask them for permission… I don’t know the policy regarding Tux, but I suspect that it’s similarly lax. However, things may be different with “Bob.”

BOZO DEAD AT 83
Posted to alt.comedy.firesgn-thtre

“You might say, in a way, I was cloning BTC (Bozo the Clown) before anybody else out there got around to cloning DNA,” Harmon told the AP in a 1996 interview.

It never occurred to me before now that Larry Harmon might have known about the Firesign Theatre. Is it too much of a stretch to wonder if he was a fan?

AL SHARPTON AND PAT ROBERTSON TV AD
Posted to misc.writing

I’m linking to YouTube. Sorry!

BRAINWASHINGTON: SWIFTBOATING OBAMA
Posted to misc.writing

“Sen. Obama made time to go to the gym but canceled a visit with wounded troops.” A voice-over actually said that in a TV commercial approved by McCain?

That’s not how to do it. You need a group of sock puppets like Swift Boat Veterans for Truth to do your dirty work for you. That way, your campaign can plausibly deny any association with the group of sock puppets. The candidate stays squeaky clean and above the mudslinging.

Of course, McCain could have chosen to actually take the high road. But I suppose that’s too much to expect, even from a Scotsman.

“Oh you’ll take the high road and I’ll take the low road,
And I’ll be in Scotland afore ye;
But me and my true love will never meet again
On the bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond.”

RISE AND FALL OF THE THIRD SOCK
Posted to misc.writing

When he goes to bed at night, Elron Popgun wears a sock puppet named Sylvia on his left hand. He wears a sock puppet named Skippy on his right hand. He wears a reusable lambskin condom with the letters MWV scrawled on it.

Is the condom worn to avoid impregnating invisible aliens or just to avoid making a mess?

Out go the lights. Then…

“You broke the rules! I’ll delete MiscWritingVille! Hahahahaha!”

“Bastard! How I hate you!”

“Die, die, DIE!”

The greenish night vision photography may give you a headache.

BOILERPLATE

I’ve edited, condensed, abridged, re-written, re-arranged, and added material for the sake of continuity and to correct factual errors.

Blog at WordPress.com.

