TCA (my initials)

May 25, 2008

the blue phone

Filed under: digital photography — TCA @ 4:06 am

cat

These snapshots reveal my amateurish ignorance about digital photography, and that my room needs repainting. The most significant revelation is that pets are more fun to photograph than old telephones. That’s Momo taking it easy on the easy chair.

The phone is a bright, warm and greenish blue in reality. It’s not cold and washed out like in this picture.

The honey colored wood of the dining room table isn’t nearly that dark or reddish. The settings of my Canon A530 camera were supposed to compensate for indoor lighting. I’ll take more pictures tomorrow during the day.

The second shot was taken with no flash.

The blue phone is a thirty year old Western Electric model 500. Its actual color may be Aqua, Turquoise or Seafoam, or some combination of the three.

It’s definitely a work in progress. Don’t laugh. Remember the 200 year old Volkswagen bug in Woody Allen’s Sleeper? It’s similar. I rescued it from a niece when she was a toddler. She was dragging it across the floor by the line cord. Not her fault. It does look like a toy. She recently graduated from high school, incidentally.

You would not have recognized this dark beige Stromberg Carlson model 2500 before it was serviced. It was covered with dust and grime. I wondered if the plastic covering the keypad was permanently faded. It wasn’t.

My parents bought the phone in 1981, when they were both fifty one years old. The same age that I am now.

So far I’ve done very little to refurbish these phones. An outfit not far from where I live named Preferred Telecomm deserves the credit.

I’d purchase a stunningly beautiful custom-made Art Deco phone from an even more amazing outfit named Telephone Creations if I had lots of money.

At least I can afford to be owned by a cat.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

