TCA (my initials)

April 18, 2008

heard it through the grapevine

Filed under: Doodling — TCA @ 11:48 pm

“Charter Communications in Los Angeles says it’s going to sell information it collects about the viewing preferences of the cable TV customers it takes money from. Here we go again. Copyright your life.” – Harry Shearer on Le Show, March 16, 2008

Charter provides both my cable television and high speed internet. I pay an obscene amount of money for the privilege.

So… Charter has been spying on my DVR box to sell info about my viewing habits. Maybe I should get rid of the DVR box. Maybe I should install a digital TV converter. I can get a $40 coupon from the U.S. government. Maybe I should shop for a DSL provider.

WTF… I’ll share my TV viewing habits with the entire world. Or the dozen or so souls who give a crap. Why not?

Right now. Here goes.

News.

1. BBC World (PBS)
2. CNN American Morning
3. Early Today (Live on MSNBC)
4. CBS Up to the Minute
5. KTLA News at Ten (Local)

I actually bothered to schedule the DVR to record CNN International’s Your World Today every weekday. But lately it has been preempted by hour-long reports for consumers about the U.S. economy.

The overall quality of CNN’s programming continues to deteriorate. Their management seems to be headed towards an idiocracy demographic.

Weather and Sports.

1. The Weather Channel
2. ESPN SportsCenter

The highlights of the day on SportsCenter are ideal for those of us with a short attention span.

The Weather Channel is unsurpassed in their live coverage of hurricanes.

Entertainment.

1. Cartoon Network Adult Swim
2. Countdown with Keith Olbermann
3. The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
4. Late Night with Conan O’Brien
5. Real Time with Bill Maher

The only TV series that I’ve watched regularly in the past six years is Curb Your Enthusiasm on HBO.

Blog at WordPress.com.

