TCA (my initials)

January 21, 2008

droolworthy, too

Filed under: techno lust — TCA @ 11:17 pm

I posted to this blog in December about the thousand dollar Wacom Cintiq 12WX tablet display with 12.1 inch diagonal screen.

The only problem with the Cintiq 12WX (other than its steep price) is that it would require the use of my G4 Mac mini’s sole digital DVI port. So I wouldn’t be able to plug in a second display.

There is a solution to this problem. Unfortunately, it’s a solution that’s more than twice as expensive. The Axiotron Modbook is a modified MacBook that has been converted into a tablet PC with built-in 13.3 inch diagonal display. It’s a full-fledged computer running OS X Leopard with a DVI port for a second display. 2.0GHz with GPS, 80GB hard disk, 1GB RAM, combo drive, and three year warranty costs $2,628 plus shipping from Other World Computing. Goodies like a superdrive, more RAM and faster clock speed cost extra.

Anyway, I probably won’t need any of this stuff for at least another year because I own a working Wacom Intuos3 6×8 tablet. But that doesn’t stop me from drooling.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

