TCA (my initials)

April 28, 2007

Mac apps I can’t live without

Filed under: Doodling — TCA @ 5:43 am

Primary web browser is Camino.

RSS reader is Safari.

Google Reader is my current beta test–I’ve spent far more time playing with it than I care to think about.

I’ve been using Blogspot as a web app since it emerged from beta earlier this year. Blog template’s HTML is valid–after a bit of tweaking by yours truly.

Can’t live without TextWrangler–a freebie from Bare Bones Software.

Terminal.app is my favorite Darwin application.

GIMP on Apple X11 is my favorite ported open source software.

Graphic Converter is refined shareware. When used in tandem with Photoshop Elements, it’s a thrifty substitute for Photoshop CS. Your mileage may vary.

iClock brings back functionality lost in the transition from OS 9 to OS X. It’s shareware that gives you lots of good features for the price.

Tiger. I’ve never had a kernel panic. Software crashing on it doesn’t require a reboot very often. With little effort I can disable features that I don’t like–temporarily or permanently.

Blog at WordPress.com.

