TCA (my initials)

April 11, 2007

sympathy for the devil

Filed under: Doodling — TCA @ 2:26 am

This is part two of Darwin award for Don Imus.

Tea and sympathy. In England, sympathy means conversation.

Rush Limbaugh makes Don Imus look like a bleeding heart. So why does Dick Cheney dignify Limbaugh with phone-in chats on the airwaves? Why hasn’t the FCC fined Limbaugh into oblivion? Or at least chased him off to satellite radio like Howard Stern.

Harry Shearer should be the I-Man’s permanent replacement at MSNBC. Check out his Le Show. It won’t take you long to realize that he’s a political junkie. His stuff is the highest quality.

Harry Shearer’s style of performing is somewhere between that of MSNBC’s Keith Olbermann and Comedy Central’s Jon Stewart. He’s smarter than either one of them. He has worked for NBC-TV before–as a sketch writer and cast member on Saturday Night Live for two years. He knows the I-Man’s territory–the world of radio disc jockeys who are fired as a matter of routine and sometimes must undergo a name change–like the fictional Dr. Johnny Thunder on the 1970s television sitcom WKRP in Cincinnati.

Wait a minute. Now I remember why Don McLean bugs me so much. Jimi Hendrix could have done a much better song about Vincent van Gogh. I wish that van Gogh had painted an American flag to go with Jimi’s Star Spangled Banner. Vincent could have done really first rate album cover art.

Sorry. I was having a flashback. I thought I was in the hallway of my dorm at Pitzer College in 1979. That was the year National Lampoon voted Pitzer the tenth best party school in the USA.

UPDATE: Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi makes a statement On Comments by Don Imus in her blog The Gavel.

UPDATE 2:
MSNBC drops Imus
[Washington Post]
Obama says fire Imus
[ABC News]
What do you think about Imus?
[The Onion]

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

