TCA (my initials)

April 11, 2007

slow news day

Filed under: Doodling — TCA @ 11:21 pm

badge My Google Reader Shared Items have become an unpaid full time job. I’m presently working overtime. This is what I’ve learned: There’s no such thing as a slow news day in 2007. The next time you see a long segment–or three consecutive long segments–about the father of Anna Nicole Smith’s baby on CNN, rest assured that the drivel is not being shown because it’s a slow news day. CNN could easily cram two hours of hard news into Anderson Cooper 360 every night. They choose not to… For whatever reason.

I’m not a professional journalist. News isn’t my career. I shamelessly cherry pick the items that I share–without pretense of objectivity.

My criterion for selecting an item to share is simple.

1. It’s compatible with my point of view.
2. It interests me.

Anyway, I’m getting further and further behind–so I’ll do an info dump now. Here’s the overflow of current news stories.

Stem Cell Bill Clears U.S. Senate
[Washington Post]
But the bill hasn’t received enough votes to override the veto that Bush has promised.

Pelosi Says Extending Tours of Duty is Unacceptable
[The Gavel]
The Speaker of the House posted the message to her blog.

Kindergartner Arrested For Throwing Tantrum
[Slate]
The six year old girl was charged with two misdemeanors and a felony.

Sen. Norm Coleman warns prosecutor he nominated
[Think Progress]
After four staffers of the U.S. Attorney in Minnesota publicly protested her “dictatorial style.”

Legal and business advice for bloggers
[Online Journalism Review]
A code of conduct “may help protect you from libel or defamation charges.” Gulp!

Code of Conduct: Lessons Learned So Far
[O’Reilly Radar]
The badge was “a bad image.” …And Photoshop pranksters everywhere thank Tim O’Reilly for it.

Blog at WordPress.com.

