TCA (my initials)

April 9, 2007

mothers of prevention

Filed under: Doodling — TCA @ 10:35 pm

Talk about your chilling effect. “As a writer, it makes me feel like I live in Iran.” Robert Scoble is quoted in a New York Times article saying those words in reaction to a proposed code of conduct for bloggers. Iran? That’s a bit of an exaggeration.

Others are feeling considerably less anxiety. The code of conduct’s backers have been jokingly likened to grade school hall monitors. The line “we don’t need your stinking badges” has been borrowed from the classic film Treasure of the Sierra Madre.

All joking aside, I’ll admit that I’m a little worried. The U.S. blogosphere is intimately connected to electoral politics. I sense politicians hiding behind the shrubbery. I can smell ’em in the breeze.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that tech manual publisher Tim O’Reilly and Wikipedia founder Jimmy Wales are in cahoots with Congresscritters. But I’ve got a bad feeling that politicians are now sorely tempted to intervene and “save the day.”

Pertinent Links:

Draft proposal
[O’Reilly Radar]
Dissecting the proposal
[Smart Mobs]
The blogger code
[Jason Kottke]
Code of conduct or not?
[Scobleizer]
Code of conduct
[gapingvoid]

This blog currently does not allow comments. I’m in no hurry to change that policy.

UPDATE:
Victim is against code of conduct
[gapingvoid]

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

