TCA (my initials)

January 1, 2007

straight out of beta

Filed under: Doodling — TCA @ 5:07 pm

Hey, hey! The new version of Blogger is straight out of beta.

Template -> Edit HTML is back! I can tweak the HTML to my little heart’s content.

The new version of Blogger is pretty much ready for prime time. However, a few gripes remain.

I’m getting multiple validation errors that say “The most common cause of this error is unencoded ampersands in URLs.” I don’t know how to automate encoding ampersands in a blog.

Valid HTML is an obsession of mine. But I can’t code my way out of a paper bag. So I must tweak HTML by brute force. It’s a monkey-see monkey-do process that takes hours to complete.

This is not how my blog will look when it’s completed. This is just the bare bones.

I’ve got another bare bones blog up and running–at WordPress.

Don’t laugh, the HTML is valid–except for a single missing “alt” attribute. I can’t fix this error–the free version of WordPress doesn’t allow HTML tweaking. Even fiddling with the CSS costs extra.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

